Home > Government

City Government

EAST ORANGE was founded as a Township in 1863 after separating from Orange. On January 1, 1909, by special charter, East Orange was incorporated into a City. The City operates under a Mayor-Council form of government.

The City Charter defines the scope of municipal government and is an act of incorporation of East Orange. East Orange derives its authority from enabling laws of the State of New Jersey. These laws authorize the City to manage its affairs in fiscal operation, tax levy, care and protection of public property and to punish for violation of ordinance.

Office of The Mayor

The Mayor is the executive officer, responsible for enforcement of laws and supervision of departments. He has the power to approve or veto resolutions and city ordinances. He also has the power to veto actions of some boards and commissions.

The Mayor recommends legislation and delivers annual messages to the City Council on the general state of the City government and its finances. He does not participate in Council meetings.

Office of The City Council

The City Council is the local legislative body responsible for appropriating funds and enacting ordinances and resolutions governing the City. It is comprised of ten members, two representing each of the City's five wards. Members of Council serve four year terms with one member being elected every odd year from each ward.

Each New Year's Day the Council meets to organize for the year. It adopts its rules and selects one of its members to act as Chairman for the ensuing year.

The Council Chairperson presides at all Council Meetings and appoints members of council to standing committees. City Council Meetings are held on Monday evenings. Committee Meetings (Workshop Sessions) are held on the first and third Monday at 6:30 p.m. Regular Meetings are held the second and fourth Monday at 7:00 p.m. However, when any such day falls upon a legal holiday, the meeting shall be held at the same hour on the succeeding day that is not a holiday. During the months of July, August and September Committee Meetings are held on the second Monday and Regular Meetings are held on the third Monday. Special meetings may be scheduled as needed. All Council Meetings are open to the public, with the exception of Executive Sessions. Citizens are allowed to address the City Council during a portion of the Meetings.

City Departments